top of page

Half Marathon or Picture Book Publication?

Which is easier, running a half marathon or publishing a children's book?

In my situation, I think running a half-marathon was easier! Sound crazy? Probably! But let me explain...

Obviously...

Both accomplishments require determination.

Both accomplishments require perseverance.

Both accomplishments require hard work!

So why was the mini marathon easier? Because with running, I was in charge of the outcome. I decided when I would train, and how much I would train. I scheduled the date of the race. I made sure I had the proper gear.

With writing, no matter how much you "do" as the author to "make it happen," there is always that element that is out of your control.

With my book Mouse's Christmas Gift, Zonderkidz was actually the second publisher to want it. The first one returned the rights to me and basically said, "Sorry, it's not going to happen after all." That was really devastating news! And embarrassing, too, because I had told so many people that I was going to be publishing a book.

But, I never gave up hope.

Just like my main character Mouse...in my book Mouse's Christmas Gift. Mouse never gives up hope, he lights the candle in the window of the church and waits...

So while I was waiting and hoping, and waiting...I began running as a hobby.

First I accomplished a couch to 5K in 2014. (still no book)

Then, I did a 10K in 2015. (still no book)

And last Saturday I ran my first 13.1 half marathon.

I'm proud to say I accomplished that distance. And I am so thrilled to say that Mouse's Christmas Gift is finally being launched into the world. October 2, 2018!!!

Twitter: @mindybakerbooks

Facebook: @Mindybakerbooks

Instagram: Mindybakerbooks

I don't know what you are waiting on, but I'd love to hear about it in the comments section.

If you are in a season of waiting, take heart! I am living proof that dreams do come true, and I can testify that it has been worth the wait!

bottom of page